Sorry, no competition is associated to the current article.

Governing Board

Our work is overseen by a Governing Board, which sets overall objectives and direction. The Board meets typically six times each year. 


For more information on the Governing Board, its members, meetings and business, please contact the Board Secretary, Guy Rickett at

Phil Smith

Phil Smith is chair of the Governing Board. He is CEO of Cisco UK & Ireland - the worldwide leader in networking for the internet and is responsible for the company's largest operation outside of North America.  He has a thirty year track record within the ICT industry, advising leading global organisations in the private and public sector on how to innovate and drive transformation, productivity and sustainable growth.  
Phil sits on a number of boards including; E-Skills, which he chairs, the Business Disability Forum and the Council for Industry and Higher Education (CIHE).

Hazel Moore

Hazel Moore is the chairman of FirstCapital, a technology-specialist investment bank which she co-founded in 1999. Her experience spans advising technology companies on mergers and acquisitions, private equity and venture capital, as well as advising family offices, institutional and strategic investors on investments and portfolio strategies.
Hazel is on the Investment Advisory Panel for the North West Fund, a £140m evergreen investment fund focused on small and medium sized enterprises in the North West of England Hazel began her career with GEC Marconi. She has an MA in Natural Sciences from Cambridge University, and is a Chartered Financial Analyst.

Sara Murray

Sara Murray OBE (M.A. Oxon) is a serial entrepreneur. She founded Ninah Consulting, which uses proprietary software to advise multinational clients on marketing effectiveness. In 1999, Sara founded Ltd, which owns the brand She then founded and now runs Buddi, which provides technology and services for the remote health and location monitoring of people.
Sara was a non-executive Director of Schering Health Care and is a founding board member of Seedcamp – a start-up school for technology entrepreneurs, as well as sitting on Vince Cable's Entrepreneurs' Forum.

Professor Sir Christopher Snowden

Professor Sir Christopher Snowden is Vice-Chancellor and President of the University of Surrey. He is a Vice-President of the Royal Academy of Engineering. He is a member of the Prime Minister's advisory Council for Science and Technology.
Prior to his appointment at Surrey in 2005, he was Chief Executive Officer of Filtronic ICS, having joined Filtronic plc in 1998. He has held a number of non-executive directorships. He is a Fellow of the Royal Society, the Royal Academy of Engineering, the IET, City and Guilds of London Institute and the IEEE.

Dr Stewart Davies

Dr Stewart Davies is CEO of Augean plc, an AIM-listed SME. His career in manufacturing and support services includes Managing Director roles in Corus, Rugby Cement, Serco and Romec.  
He served on the Sustainable Development Commission, as Business Commissioner, for four years overseeing its work on sustainable construction, mobility and neighbourhood infrastructure.
Stewart is chair of Innovate UK's Resource Efficiency Steering Group. He is a Fellow of the Institute of Physics

Ian Shott

Ian Shott CBE is the Managing Partner of Shott Trinova through which he manages a portfolio of technology businesses. In 2004 he founded Excelsyn, a Pharmaceutical Development business, which he sold in 2010. Ian previously held several global leadership positions, with multi-national life science companies (AstraZeneca, Lonza and Rhodia) located in the UK, Switzerland, USA and France.
A past President of the IChemE he is a Fellow of the Royal Academy of Engineers, chairing the Enterprise Fellowship Committee and sitting on the Policy Committee.  He chairs the UK's Leadership Forum for Industrial Biotechnology, was made CBE for services to Chemical Engineering in 2009 receiving an Honorary Doctorate from Nottingham University in 2010.

Doug Richard

Doug Richard is a successful entrepreneur with over 20 years' experience in the development and leadership of technology and software ventures, Doug featured in the  first two TV series of Dragons' Den. He is an active angel investor, the Founder of School for Startups, was Chairman of the Conservative Party Small Business Task Force, is non-executive director of BrightPearl Software.
Between 1996 and 2000 Doug was President and CEO of Micrografx, a US publicly quoted software company. Prior to that he also founded and subsequently sold two other companies: Visual Software and ITAL Computers.

Robert Sorrell

Robert Sorrell is BP's VP for Public Partnerships , Associate Director for the BP International Centre for Advanced Materials and technology policy advisor.. Robert joined BP in 1987 from Durham University having earlier completed his PhD at Cambridge University.  
Robert oversees BP's interests in the UK Energy Technology Institute and chairs the Innovate UK's Energy Generation and Supply Steering Group. He is on the Board of Breathing Buildings, a natural ventilation company, as a non-executive Director.

Mike Carr

Mike Carr was formerly British Telecom's (BT's) Chief Science Officer, and responsible for the company's world-leading Research Labs and Commercial Exploitation business, including Patent Licensing and Corporate Venturing activities globally.
He is a Fellow of the Royal Academy of Engineering (FREng) a Chartered Engineer (CEng) and was awarded an Honorary Doctorate of Technology from the University of Plymouth in September 2009. He is a Non Executive Director of Ordnance Survey and a VP and Trustee of the Institute on Engineering & Technology (IET).

Please note: In accordance with the Nolan recommendations there is a requirement for appointees' political activity to be made public. There is no such activity to declare for the above Governing Board members. Board members are also required to make a declaration of their interests. A full set of these declarations can be downloaded here.

The appointments have been made in accordance with the requirements of the Code of the Commissioner for Public Appointments. All appointments are made on merit and political activity plays no part in the selection process.